Skip to Content

Charlize Theron to be honored for “Bombshell” performance at Palm Springs International Film Festival


Charlize Theron will be the next recipient of the International Star Award at the 31st Palm Springs International Film Festival.

The actress will receive the prestigious honor for her portrayal of Megan Kelly in Bombshell at the Film Festival's Awards Gala on January 2nd at the Palm Springs Convention Center.

“Over the years, Charlize Theron has created so many memorable roles including her performances in Monster, North Country, Young Adult, Mad Max: Fury Road, Atomic Blonde, Tully and so much more,” stated Festival Chairman Harold Matzner via news release. “In her latest film, Bombshell she gives yet another award-worthy performance through her striking physical transformation of her portrayal as Megan Kelly. The Palm Springs International Film Festival is honored to present the International Star Award, Actress to Charlize Theron.”

Theron joins noteworthy company among the award's previous recipients, including Helen Mirren, Gary Oldman, Saoirse Ronan, and her Bombshell co-star, Nicole Kidman.

Previously announced 31st PSIFF honorees include Joaquin Phoenix.

Theron will add the International Star Award to a Palm Springs International Film Festival trophy case which already contains a Desert Palm Achievement Award (2006) and the Vanguard Award (2012).

Bombshell is set for a limited U.S. release on December 13.

"Lionsgate presents Bombshell, a revealing look inside the most powerful and controversial media empire of all time, Fox News, and the explosive story of the women who brought down the infamous man who created it," reads PSIFF's release on the award.

PSIFF runs from January 2 - 12, 2020.

Author Profile Photo

Sam Benson Smith

Sam Benson Smith is the Digital Content Director for Gulf California Broadcasting. Learn more about Sam here.


Leave a Reply

Skip to content