Skip to Content

Insider Blog: Explaining the different types of faults

California is home to hundreds of faults. This partly explains why the state sees so many earthquakes. They can range wildly in size and shape.

A fault is a fracture zone between two large blocks of rock. Some, like the San Andreas Fault, are hundreds of miles long, traverse most of the state, and remain active to this day.

Credit: Library of Congress

There are three main types of faults: normal, reverse (or thrust), and strike-slip faults. All are responsible for earthquakes, but the majority of the faults here in California are strike-slip faults.

Article Topic Follows: First Alert Weather Insider

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo

Spencer Blum

Spencer Blum joined KESQ News Channel 3 in 2023 as a member of the First Alert Weather Team.


News Channel 3 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content