Skip to Content

Justice Department Deploys Election Observers To Riverside County

The U.S. Justice Department announced on Friday that its Civil Rights Division plans to deploy more than 400 federal observers and department personnel to monitor Election Day 30 jurisdictions.

Inspectors will be stationed in Riverside County, as well as 18 states.

Although state and local governments have primary responsibility for administering elections, under the federal voting rights laws, the Civil Rights Division is charged with and committed to protecting the rights of all citizens to access the ballot on Election Day, said a Justice Department news release.

Staff members will be available at a special toll-free number to receive complaints related to ballot access (1-800-253-3931) (TTY line 1-877-267-8971), including allegations of voter intimidation or coercion targeted at voters because of their race, color, national origin or religion.

In addition, individuals may also report complaints, problems or concerns related to voting via the Internet. Forms may be submitted through a link on the department’s web page.

Other locations where Justice Department officials will be monitoring include: Autauga County, Ala.; Bethel, Alaska; Apache and Navajo Counties, Ariz.; Randolph County, Ga.; Kane County, Ill.; Salem County (Penns Grove), N.J.; Cibola and Sandoval Counties, N.M.; Cuyahoga County, Ohio; Shannon County; S.D.; and Dallas, Fort Bend, Galveston and Williamson Counties, Texas.

KESQ News Team


Leave a Reply

Skip to content