Skip to Content

Reese Witherspoon to receive Chairman’s Award at PSIFF

Academy Award® winning actress Reese Witherspoon will receive the Chariman’s Award at the 26th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival for her role in the film ‘Wild’.

“Reese Witherspoon delivers one of her finest performances in Wild,” said Festival Chairman Harold Matzner. “Witherspoon brilliantly brings to life the true story of Cheryl Strayed, adding yet another iconic performance to her impressive 20-year span of characters including June Carter, Tracy Flick and Elle Woods. The Palm Springs International Film Festival is proud to present Reese Witherspoon with the Chairman’s Award.”

Film festival organizers noted past recipients of the Chairman’s Award, including Ben Affleck, George Clooney, Richard Gere, Tom Hanks, Dustin Hoffman and Nicole Kidman.

Matzner described the film Wild in a release on Thursday Director Jean-Marc Valle, Witherspoon and Academy Award nominated screenwriter Nick Hornby bring bestselling author Cheryl Strayed’s extraordinary adventure to the screen. After years of reckless behavior, a heroin addiction and the destruction of her marriage, Strayed makes a rash decision. Haunted by memories of her mother Bobbi (Academy Award nominee Laura Dern) and with absolutely no experience, she sets out to hike more than a thousand miles on the Pacific Crest Trail all on her own. Wild powerfully reveals her terrors and pleasures –as she forges ahead on a journey that maddens, strengthens, and ultimately heals her.

Fox Searchlight Pictures presents, a Pacific Standard production, Wild starring Reese Witherspoon, Laura Dern, Thomas Sadoski, Michiel Huisman, Gaby Hoffmann, Kevin Rankin, W. Earl Brown, Mo McRae, Keene McRae. In addition to starring in Wild, Witherspoon also produced the film through her Pacific Standard Films banner, optioning the rights to Strayed’s memoir prior to its release.

The Palm Springs International Film Festival runs from January 2-12 and the Awards Gala takes place on Saturday, January 3.

The Gala will also present awards this year to Eddie Redmayne, Julianne Moore, Rosamund Pike, J.K. Simmons and Richard Linklater.

KESQ News Team


Leave a Reply